Bust my neck

long_neckI’ve got a long neck. Giraffe-like you might say. One thing I’ve noticed over the years of working at a computer is that if I slouch for a period of time I get sharp muscle pains between my shoulder blades, and if I persist, muscle spasms and neck pain. Bah.

When I started work in Sunnyvale I had a stand up desk which I quite liked. I managed to find a bar stool for if I wanted to perch, but in the main, I stood. Soon after, I had my ergonomic assessment and lo, in the night my desk mysteriously shrank to regular height. I didn’t like it as much, but they’d put in a keyboard tray to keep my arms level, and adjusted the height of my monitor to the level of my eyes.

laptop-ergonomics1

Last week however, they seem to have packed my desk up into plastic bags ready to move – where to, I don’t know. I called and emailed the facilities team but didn’t get a response. So I just parked my laptop on the side and worked.

postureI’d noticed my shoulders feeling tight but didn’t really think about it, then on Monday night I spent about 5 hours slouched on the sofa writing documentation. When Christina arrived back at midnight i got up, and knew instantly that some damage was done. The next morning, moving my head side to side was painful and by the end of the day I just wanted to lie down. But this morning, I couldn’t even get out of bed.. when I finally did get up, I couldn’t lift Ethan out of his cot as the pain in my neck flared up each time I moved my arms forward. So bad in fact, that I actually made a doctors appointment to make sure I hadn’t done any serious damage.

Luckily not, just some exercises and a prescription for some muscle relaxers to stop it seizing up over night. But I should know better. We do ourselves enough damage sat at a computer all day – let’s not end up crippled.

Let that be a lesson to us!

One response to this post.

  1. Ouch
    I had to do some serious neck reeducation in January and February… I now make sure I have regular coffe breaks 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

